Pearl River Valley | Mississippi
(601) 736 - 9564

Mission Statement

To provide community services promoting self-sufficiency for disadvantaged individuals, families, and businesses by establishing partnerships in Mississippi.

We've Grown Over The Years

PRVO has grown tremendously since it was founded in 1965. Maintaining a central office, 9 satellite offices, 16 Head Start/Early Head Start Centers, 9 senior citizen meal sites, and 9 housing subdivisions provided an opportunity for the agency to assist a wide variety of low-income and at-risk families.

Our Ultimate Goal

PRVO’s ultimate goal is to eliminate the paradox of poverty in its service area by opening to everyone the opportunity for education and training, the opportunity to work, and the opportunity to live in decency and dignity as envisioned under the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964.

Providing Assistance to the Community

PRVO provided assistance to 19,775 individuals and 6,515 families. Not only were low-income families connected to resources to increase family stability, they achieved positive outcomes and became self-sufficient. We offered comprehensive services for entire families and established beneficial partnerships to maximize services. Our staff listened to their problems and worked diligently to solve those problems.

Established Since 1965

Established and incorporated in August 1965, PEARL RIVER VALLEY OPPORTUNITY, INC. is a private non-profit (501(c)(3) Community Action Agency incorporated under the laws of the State of Mississippi. PRVO, INC. is accountable to a twenty-four (24) member Executive Board of Directors composed of representatives from private, public, and specific target sectors of each community PRVO serves. The agency currently has approximately 350 employees.

2019 Annual Report

PRVO has a long rich history in providing services to low-income communities.
View our achievements here.

Executive Board of Directors

Helmon Johnson Executive Director

Our Mission is “To provide community services promoting self-sufficiency for disadvantaged individuals, families, and businesses by establishing partnerships in Mississippi.”

Jimmy Richardson Board Chairman

There are many challenges for low-income families in this tough economic time. We are responding to these challenges by conducting community need assessments to address the needs that our service area has deemed priority. As PRVO, Inc. approaches its 50th year of service, we remain committed to serving communities. I would like to recognize the leadership and staff for a job well done.

Board Members


Kenneth Smith

Donnie Barnes

Annette Evans



Clifton Preston, Jr.

David Parsons

Shronda Taylor-Leggett


Joseph Wesley

Laura McLain, Board Secretary

Annie Pope



R.T. McGowan

Reed Houston


Lucy McInnis

Shirley Dampeer

Dedra Johnson



Jimmy Richardson, Board Chairman

Russell Foster

Georgia Antoine


Arthur Siggers, Vice Chairman

Charles Gordon

David Wash



Sherry D. Hartfield

Robert Myers

Deborah Jackson

The Policy Council

Claudia Fairley  Policy Council Chairperson

Head Start is the key that open the doors to a brighter future for our children, because, we know that our children are our future. Pearl River Valley Opportunity Directors and Administrative Staff make sure that our children receive a fantastic head start in preparing for their future.

Board Members

Christen Haynes, Vice Chairperson          Yolanda Bourne, Secretary          Porsha Owokunkle, Assistant Secretary

Melissa Loftin

Megean N. Russell
Clifton Preston, Sr

Kimberly Adams
Oak Grove

Ciera Rawls
Hub – EHS – CB

Noella Johnson
East Marion

LaSandra Franklin

Syleary Campbell

TaKisha Jackson
St. Paul

Halyn Pamphile
Lexie – HS

Sonia Pittman
Lexie – EHS-HS

Kanisha Brooks Bryant

Sherrelle Gardner
Magnolia – EHS-CB

Chilita Jones
Magnolia – HB

Charlecia Kennedy
Magnolia – EHS-HB

Bianca Thompson
Pleasant Grove

DemarQuellis Hodges

Katurah Magee

Stephanie Bass

Community Representatives

Tonya Bolton
Stone County

Arnecca Byrd
Lamar County

Alvin Hogan
Pike County

Shirley Damper
Board Liaison

Forrest County Policy Council Members

Quijett Magee, PC Chair
CH Johnson – HS

Tashuna Dantzler
W. H. Jones – HS

Aleshia L. Clark
W. H. Jones – HS

Judy Jackson
North Forrest

Archie Brewton, Vice Chairperson
W. H. Jones – EHS

Shirlene Smith
Hattiesburg High

Verna McCarty

Natasha Cunningham
Hawkins – HS

Demetric Herring
Mary Bethune

Towanda Williams
Grace Christian

Carhondalette  Armstrong

Porshia Armstrong
Earl Travillion – EHS

Krystal Porter
Hawkins – EHS

Forrest County Community Representatives

Deborah A. Woullard, PC Secretary                    Mr. James Fluker, PC Assistant Secretary                 , Board Liaison